Am I Naïve?

Am I Naïve?

Probably. Maybe. No. I have no idea. Yes.

I feel naïve sometimes. Especially when I answer these sorts of questions.

“why did you decide to stay in Yakima.”
“ummmm, God.”

“Oh, so you live downtown?”
“well, kind of.”
“Why would you choose to live in that part of town?”
“I feel called to…”
“By?”
“ummm, Jesus”

“Why decide to become a vegetarian.”
“I felt convicted”

I get these questions quite a bit. If I am being 100% truthful I usually don’t answer the questions like this. My go to answer is “well, it’s kind of a long story.”  I am afraid how others might see me. I don’t want people to see me as being naïve or foolish.

Maybe I am naïve. But I don’t really think so. I mean I do what I believe it right. I don’t to it rashly and it is really what I believe I should do.
And really, if I’m wrong what the worst that will happen? Sure my car was stolen. That sucked, hardcore, but really that  isn’t even close to the worst.

I am blessed beyond compare with my family and friends that live here (I’m also blessed by my far-away friends… love you Kaitlin and PortlandSarah!) So I’m not concerned by what could happen. Which then leads me back to thinking I am far too naïve for my own good.

So naïve or not? Who knows.

I’ll leave you with a quote from Walking on Water by Madeleine L’Engle (one of my favorites.) I don’t know how well I really live this out. But I try and when I feel like I am succeeding it makes me feel naïve again…

"it means to live in such a way that one's
life would not make sense if God did not exist"
4 thoughts on “Am I Naïve?

  1. My dear wonderful Tracy. You are not naive. I looked up the definition of naive for you because that’s the nerd I am… “naive: having or showing unaffected simplicity of nature…. having or showing a lack of experience, judgment or information…. having or marked by simple, unaffected direct style reflecting little or no formal training….” So you see. You are not naive. You are trustworthy. You trust that God speaks to you, the He is leading you and that He is taking care of you whatever that truly means. And so you are not naive. You are trustworthy. Don’t worry about what they will think when you say that God is the reason for those things because hey… it can’t sound nearly as crazy as moving to the other side of the country. 🙂 When you are answering those questions as God you truly are living out Madeleine’s quote for you are living in such away that the only answer you have is God and therefore no other answer would make sense. I love you!! Be encouraged in the life that you are living so beautifully!!

  2. I believe everyone is naive in some ways. I thought being an adult wouldn’t be so hard…look how that turned out. All is well though, whenever your car is stolen you know I will always be your ride to work!!

    1. Thank Emily.
      I think part of my willingness to do some of these things is knowing that I have people here to help me when life doesn’t go as intended.

Leave a Reply

