Thankful Thursday (seven)

Thankful Thursday (seven)

I just got back from youth camp on Tuesday.

I was exhausted, I was stressed, I cleaned up puke, I got sunburned and I got more mosquito bites than I can count (and that was with using sunscreen and bug repellent.)

Even still, I am thankful for my youth (I am also thankful for Aaron and Melissa who actually make me think I am even close to being a good youth leader)

I am thankful for the stress. I am thankful for the exhaustion. I am thankful for the girls whose stories break my heart.

I’ll admit that sometimes I want to be done, I don’t want to care.
Even though they weigh on my heart I can eventually give it to God. And the longer I work with these kids the more I learn how to give it to God. The longer I am with these kids the more I learn about myself. The more I am around them the more I love them and the more I care.

I  know when I help with youth group, I get stressed out and they make me angry on occasion. But when I am not doing anything those are the times that life almost kills me.

Leave a Reply

