She gave me a jalapeño

She gave me a jalapeño

I love when people give me food from their gardens. I love the tomatoes, zucchini and bell peppers

Never has a jalapeño from someones garden almost made me cry.

I went to youth group this  last week and went over to talk to one of my girls. She was sitting with a box on her lap looking kind of nervous. She told me it was full of vegetables and other things from her family’s garden. When she was out picking, people kept coming into her mind. She felt God  placing kids from our youth group in her mind and on her heart. She felt God wanted her to let then know.

She brought a box of home-grown produce and gave everyone something and told them how that plant reminded her of them.

Such beautiful obedience.

Roses (which I learned at edible) last and are beautiful. Potatoes you never know what you are going to get, but sometimes you find something great. Bell pepper plants often look like nothing is there but once you look deeper you realize how much life is there. Mint is fresh and clean.
An apple, a couple tomatoes, an eggplant and some zucchini.
She gave me a jalapeño and told me something about how I’m fiery and unique and full of life.

I learn a lot from my youth kids. From them I learn about strength and honesty and obedience and courage.

I mentioned to a man this week that I help with youth group at my church, he said the world needs more people like me and I awkwardly thanked him.
But the truth is, the world has enough twenty-somethings trying to figure out life. The world has enough girls full of fear. What the world needs is more people like this girl. A freshman girl who giver her youth group vegetables. A girl who follows through with what she believe God is telling her to do, even if her voice shakes a little a the beginning.

Leave a Reply

