Thankful Thursday (three)

Thankful Thursday (three)

It’s been a crazy busy week but it’s all good because….
I leave for vacation TODAY!!!

I am crazy excited and have barely been able to contain my excitement for the past couple weeks. I am headed down to California for one of my best friend’s college graduation… which bring us to thankful Thursday.

Today I am thankful for Kaitlin.

This girl has been one of my nearest and dearest friends since the 4th grade

(This is us at our “invention convention” in the 4th grade. We made a super cool *hairbrush deluxe* fancy, I know)

It’s hard to put in words how much Kaitlin and her friendship has meant to me over the years, but I’m sure going to try.

We have had a lot of ups and a lot of downs in our friendship. In fact, there was a while our senior year of high school that I thought for sure that our friendship was done. But thankfully I was wrong and it wasn’t.

(super classy ladies before homecoming Junior year)

I was with her while she cried over her first boy-induced heartache our sophomore year (?) of high school (and subsequent ones). And she was always on the other end of the phone or facebook chat while I cried over my first boy-induced heartache this past year.

One of my favorite things about her is that she is sooooooo boy crazy (a condition she deems boy-itis.) The reason I love this about her is that I am the complete opposite. I don’t get crushes easily and I always love to hear her talk about who she likes and why.
This is one of the many things in which we are complete opposites.

When I look back over our years of friendship I am amazed at the type of woman that she has grown into from the girl that she was. Kaitlin constantly stretches me, challenges me and encourages me to be a better person. And I am crazy blessed to have her in my life.

Kaitlin moved to California in 2009 and I was happy and sad. Jealous and excited for her. Scared and proud. (obviously I had mixed feelings about this.) But my excitement for her won out and listening to her adventures and hearing about all of her new friends brought me such joy. And whenever she came home I looked forward to seeing her.

(my joy over spending time with Kaitlin is apparent in this picture)

Even states away, Kaitlin is one of my go-to friends when I want to talk about pretty much anything…. Guys, Jesus, relationships, stress, joy, life, food, adventures, work, family. And if I am having a bad day a call to Kaitlin seems to make it all better.

So now she is getting ready graduate and end her current California adventure and start a new one. Now instead of her moving a couple states away she is moving across the country to New Hampshire. And I am already soooo excited to hear about all of her new adventures.

So all my thoughts are poorly constructed but what it all boils down to is…
I am so very thankful for my crazy beautiful, ridiculously smart, super classy best friend, I love her oh so much, and I am looking forward to spending time with her and celebrating her graduation with her!

One thought on “Thankful Thursday (three)

Leave a Reply

